Run Fatty Run! (My first 5K run)

Standard

I always wanted to run. Not from my problems, although I tried (once or twice, or more…)

Running is one of the most popular healthy regime right now. It is one of the cheapest too. Just get some running shoes, find an open space and run like your demons are behind you. I myself prefer to run than any other sport there is. If a sport has anything to do with hand and feet coordination, then I’m definitely out. Not my biggest strength really.

So when I got an email from World Vision that they will be holding their annual world vision run, I decided to join. I opted to join the 5k run instead of the 3k run cause I feel 3k is a bit too short. I do runs on my elliptical machine and 3k I can do easily. I want to challenge myself so I went for the 5k run. I actually was tempted to do the 10k cause I like to have a medal but decided against it. I don’t think a 10k is a good first run for me. After all, I know that running on a machine is quite different from actual running.

I did try to prepare on this run but then stress took over. Which means the start of stress eating. The few pounds I lost on our biggest looser challenge (which I won) at work made a great comeback and even invited a few more pounds for added measure. REALLY HARD to stay fit when you’re too stressed at work. Not to mention the microwave oven in our office is now broken so instead of bringing food from home, we usually buy at the nearest fast food shops. Anyways, I tried to run on my machine every time I have the time. I was also able to have a few weekend run in Rizal park with my co-worker.

And then I got my race kit.šŸ™‚ It is now real.šŸ™‚

Race KitWas glad to get a lot of support from my friends and family. On the day of the run, which is a Sunday, my friend and I met at McDonalds in Gil Puyat at around 4 AM. Too bad that the cab I took opted to take me to some “scenic routes”. If I wasn’t afraid he’d leave me in some place, I would have called out on his antics. Anyways, was about 5 minutes late on our meet up. We proceeded to SM MOA where the event will take place. We went to the baggage counter to leave our things and watched the start of the 10K run. After a few minutes, it was our turn.šŸ™‚ We had some warm up, and then it was time for the run. And off we go. Lol. It was hard! I don’t have any issues with my knees. My legs. But I had a hard time running. It must be my weight. As my friend said, I can run fast but I cannot sustain it cause I find myself too heavy. But the good thing is I finished the run.šŸ™‚ In 46 minutes. Lol. Not too fast. But I wasn’t the last so, Yey!šŸ™‚

I do plan to run another 5k and then a 10K. We’ll see if I have the guts to go on 21K.šŸ™‚

On off the bucket list!šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

