My Thai / Pho Hoa – Robinsons Magnolia

Standard

We usually go out on a weekend for a family lunch. The usual destination is SM San Lazaro. But since that place has slim pickings for restaurants, I have been encouraging the family to visit other malls. We’ve been to MOA but it doesn’t work that much. It’s a tad too far from home and traffic can sometimes be awful. We also tried going to the Makati malls but somehow it doesn’t have that “family friendly” feel. We also tried going to Trinoma but I’m not that keen on spending some time along EDSA. The latest mall destination is Robinsons Magnolia. Works well so far. Traffic going there is okay. Good parking and not too crowded.

First lunch we had there is at My Thai/ Pho Hoa. Here’s a run down of what we had.

This shrimp paste rice is okay. You’re supposed to mix everything before eating but we didn’t since some doesn’t want the chili or the onions. Just get some and mix on your own plate. Taste – 8/10. I had better in one of those Thai place in an Ayala building.

Thai Shrimp Paste Rice

Thai Shrimp Paste Rice

Brother loves anything noodles. So I got him a chicken pad thai.  I always try to introduce him to a new dish. Otherwise, he would always be eating the usual spaghetti. Taste – 7/10. I like the one served in Songkran better.

Chicken Pad Thai

Chicken Pad Thai

 

Fried spring rolls for appetizer. Though it was served with the rest of the food. Guess they don’t really care much on the sequence of how the food should be served. Taste – 6/10. I can’t remember what this tastes like. Forgettable. Perhaps if the dip is better.

Pow Piet Tod Gai

Pow Piet Tod Gai

This one I like! Deep fried squid. The squid was soo soft but not under cooked. I also like the dip. Was good! Taste – 9/10.

Pla Meuk Tort Gratiam Prik Thai

Pla Meuk Tort Gratiam Prik Thai

I had to get this one because it’s something that safe. Brother would be pissed off if he can only eat the pad thai. Taste – 7/10. I like the sate served in the Thai restaurants served in Glorietta 1. The one with the purple themed place. Forgot the name of the place.

Chicken Sate

Chicken Sate

This one we got from the menu of Pho Hoa. And Nanay loves it. So that’s a clear 10/10 for taste.🙂

Beef Pho

Beef Pho

We ordered this chili shrimps because my niece loves shrimp. We just asked the restaurant to make it less spicy. Yummy. But better if it was atomic but it wasn’t for me.🙂 Taste – 9/10

Chilli Shrimps

Chilli Shrimps

I ordered this fish cakes just because brother pointed at it’s picture in the menu. Gotta give him what he wants. But for taste  6/10. Too salty. Doesn’t taste much. Just salty.

IMG_20140409_114312

Fish cakes

Last one is this grilled chicken. Again, a safe dish for brother. Taste – 7/10. Nothing special really. Just good that the chicken was soft.

Grilled Chicken

Grilled Chicken

All in all, the dining experience is okay. I’d give 7/10 for the place and 7/10 for the price. Would I be visiting it again? Well, pho hoa, yes. My Thai, not much.  :)

Leave a Reply

